h1

Gilbert Arenas is a clown

January 11, 2010

“No guns in NBA arenas, events or facilities….”   I guess Arenas didn’t get the memo. 

On December 24, 2009, NBA star Gilbert Arenas brought unloaded firearms into the Wizards lockeroom at the Verizon Center.  Most people know the story already, so I won’t bore you with the rest of the details.  However, I will tell you that on January 6th, NBA commissioner David Stern finally showed some balls.  Criticized as a “players commish” and basically a bitch over his tenure in charge, Stern suspended Arenas indefinitely, without pay, and said Gilbert would face a lengthy suspension with the possibility of something “worse.” 

My father repeatedly told me as a child to not only learn from your own mistakes, but the mistakes of others as well.  These words obviously did not reach the ears of Gilbert Arenas.  When Plaxico Burress brought a loaded hand gun into a New York City nightclub about a year ago, Burress, like most athletes,thought he could do whatever he wanted.  Sure, carrying a hand gun into a New York bar would be unheard of for most of us, but Burress was a star receiver with a Super Bowl ring, making 100 million dollars. 

While Plaxico made a mistake, and definitely deserved the sentence he received (even if the system was making an example out of him,) there is at least a small part of me that understood why he did what he did. 

Gilbert Arenas on the other hand, is a flat-out MORON. 

Not only did he not learn from Plaxico’s incident, Arenas failed to learn from his arrest in Miami a few years ago where he caused multiple injuries while inciting a riot. 

And to top it ALL off – Gilbert spit in the face of Stern by using his fingers as guns during player introductions.  

What a clown….

I have no remorse for this man.  I hope he never gets to play again in the NBA.  He can go play in Europe, start his own business, or even become a gun salesman.  You had a great opportunity that is only open to such a few amount of people and you turned it into a circus.  Despite being more fortunate than some others who don’t even have food to eat, I pride myself on working hard for my money and am grateful for everything I have.  Arenas, however, thinks he’s untouchable because of his 9-figure bank account. 

I don’t want to hear any excuses that he needed protection.  I am not naive to the point where I don’t realize there are parts of this country where people fear for their life everyday they wake up.  But Gilbert Arenas was playing in secure arenas and on an NBA team that travels with a boat load of security.  Did he really fear for his life?  What were the guns for? 

Most importantly – would you or I get fired if we brought a gun to our place of employment?

“Gilbert Arenas is not fit to partake in an NBA game.” 

…couldn’t have said it better myself.

Leave a Reply

