h1

Gun Runner… NBA suspends Arenas

January 6, 2010

No Guns

NBA commissioner David Stern has suspended Gilbert Arenas indefinitely and without pay, pending a full investigation into allegations he brought weapons to the Washinton Wizards training facility. There are also allegations that he drew one of those weapons on teammate Javaris Crittenton over a card game.

Arenas who has mocked the situation since it was brought to attention last week has this to say via his attorney,

“I feel very badly that my actions have caused the NBA to suspend me, but I understand why the league took this action,” Arenas said in a statement issued through his attorney. “I put the NBA in a negative light and let down my teammates and our fans. I am very sorry for doing that.

“While I never intended any harm or disrespect to the NBA or anyone else, my gun possession at the Verizon Center and my attempts at humor showed terrible judgment. I take full responsibility for my conduct.”

Arenas stands to lose about $145,000 per game he is not in uniform.

Leave a Reply

