h1

Ron Artest admits to drinking during games

December 2, 2009

 

Former St. John’s star, and current Los Angeles Laker Ron Artest told The Sporting News that he would drink during games while on the Bulls. 

“I used to drink Hennessy at halftime,” said Artest, who played with Chicago from 1999-2002.  “I kept it in my locker. I’d just walk to the liquor store  and get it.”

Artest continued to say that it was tough to deal with the Bulls constantly losing, so he needed to ease his mind. 

The rest of the interview was pretty alarming as well, as Ron Ron admitted to smoking marijuana and drinking on a daily basis while playing for St. John’s. 

“When I was a 19-year-old father, whew. I was a single pimp! I was wild. A lot of marijuana and alcohol—even before … I still party and I have fun, but not like I used to. I used to drink every night and party every night.”

I can’t say I’m shocked by this statement, but WOW. 

NBA Commissioner David Stern has yet to comment, but I can’t see him letting this slide by.

Ron’s former coach at St. John’s, Fran Fraschilla, offered these comments:

“It’s a surprise because every day at practice, he came out in a mood to play. He came out in a basketball rage,” said Fraschilla, now an analyst for ESPN. “He was fully committed; he wanted to let our upperclassmen know that he was the alpha male.

“It never came up that he had any sort of a problem with alcohol. This is the first I’ve heard of it.”

Sporting News Interview with Ron Artest

2 comments

  1. Queens forever!!!!!!!!!!! Ron Ron is the best… FUCK DAVID STERN!!!


  2. Nice find will, this shit is hysterical!!!! you def should have mentioned that he said he would fight ben wallace, wherever and whenever!!!



Leave a Reply

